Katana – DC SuperHero Girls (2016 SDCC Exclusive)

It has been a while since I looked at a DC Superhero Girl. I was actually on the Mattel Toy Shop site at the end of last year since I heard they had She-Ra for a super good price. I saw that they had some Katanas left for an awesome price as well, so I pounced on the deal. I got her, took pictures, and then they sat in a folder on my desktop since January. It is June! Time to clean house I guess.

Well, the box art is what this set is all about. The fine people at Mattel did a fantastic job with some amazing art on all sides of the box.

Inside the outer box is a window-box that portrays Katana about to be attacked by some other bad girls.

Slide the box open and there you have the doll. She looks ready for action. She is clad in armor, holding her katana blade. Along with the katana is a bladed staff, 2 sai, a knife, and 4 throwing stars for good measure. That is a lot of accessories for a DCSG. Way more than any of the other girls get. That is to be expected in a SDCC exclusive set.

She has a stand with her name on it. The sheath of the sword attaches to the base to make a really nice display.

She is able to hold all of her weapons, except for the throwing stars. They are a bit on the small side for her grasping hands.

It was a nice touch to include sheaths for the weapons. She is able to wear the knife on her back.

There are a lot of parts that make up Katana. All of the armor comes off, leaving her in a grey/black suit. You can see that her arms are two different colors, so she is limited to wearing one outfit. Similar to Harley Quinn with painted legs.

This is a nice set. I do not like how she is looking off to the side. It makes it hard to pose her for photo shoots with the other girls. I saw she is still available on Amazon, but the price is back up to $90. Fear not, the standard version is out now, and is $21.99. Way better in price. I have not seen her in the wild yet. She was supposed to be coming out with Frost, who I have also not seen the wild. I will keep my eyes peeled for them.

Until then, there are lots of other great girls that have come out that we will be looking at shortly.

Leave a Reply

