Daily Archives: May 7, 2017

Marvel Legends #200 – Colossus (Warlock Wave)

I am 2 waves behind in my Marvel Legends. I have one photographed, while the other is still boxed. But today I have to stop and take a look at Colossus. He is not only important because he is a really cool character, and a killer action figure, but he marks my 200th Marvel Legend.

My very first Marvel Legend was Captain America that came out in 2005. Later that year I started the hunt for the second BAF in the Sentinel Series (Still my favorite figure of all time). Then I didn’t really start to collect until 2013. Over the years from 2005 to 2013, I collected 18 figures. Not a whole lot considering how many figures actually came out that year. But with the Iron Monger series, I was in it for good.

There have been a lot of attempts and tries over the years to get the Marvel Line kickstarted. ToyBiz introduced us to the figures with good articulation. Some of those characters were not often seen before that time period, and that was really great. But we kept seeing the same things pop up. Captain America, Iron Man, Wolverine. Not to say that doesn’t still happen, but now we have movie versions, and comic versions, and really far out there comic versions.

Some of my favorite figures are X-Men. They were an early part of my comic youth, and I still love them today. Colossus is a great example of a good X-Man. He has been around forever. He has seen many changes over the years in the comics and the movies. Most recently he was rediscovered in the movie-verse with his appearance in Deadpool. He was the straight-man to Deadpool’s comic silliness. And that is the way it should be.

This version of Colossus is the comic version. Red and yellow are pretty standard colors for him in most of his outfits. There is an added black chevron to his torso to give a bit of extra color.

The metal color Hasbro used to color his head and arms is absolutely fantastic. It is shiny and just the right color. Since he is a big guy, he lost the double joint in the elbows that all of the bigger figures have also lost. That does limit his movement a bit. He is a giant 7.5 inches tall. The is Build-a-Figure territory, but he is not the BAF this time around.

He comes with the classic Russian hard-edged face. His hair is a darker gunmetal color, cut high and tight, just like any good Russian should. The details in his face are second to none. He has so much detail, that I can look at that face for days and still find new details.

He comes with a second head. This is his hipster head. The hair is coiffed to one side with the front sticking up. He has a nicely trimmed beard, straight across the bottom. I really like this look too. It is hard to decide which head will be the primary head when he is on the shelf.

The muscle tone on this guy is so great. I am always amazed at the quality that Hasbro has put into this line. They work on the back as much as the front. There is nothing lacking from this figure. I am excited for the rest of this cool and crazy wave. But first I have to go back to the last two waves and get those completed. Spider-Man and Guardians of the Galaxy Wave 1.

Until next time.


