Poison Ivy and Supergirl – DC Super Hero Girls

I know, I know, it should be Ivy and Harley, but I really felt these two would work better together.  I really liked the first two DC Super Hero Girls I reviewed, Batgirl, and Wonder Woman.  These two are not my favorite.  Of course when you show up to the party with 6 new girls, all of them are not going to be everyone’s cup of tea.  Now that is not to say I don’t like them.  They are both very nice figures, and overall they do a good job representing the character.  Who knows?  If I had opened these girls first, I may have liked them a lot more, but they were up against some tough competition.

Poison Ivy:

I love Poison Ivy’s hair. It is a beautiful blend of reds and oranges. Mattel went to a lot of trouble to get a really nice blend of colors.

I get a strong Barbie vibe from her that I didn’t get from either Batgirl or Wonder Woman. I think it may be a bit of the painted on face, and a lot to do with the outfit. I think it is less glamorous than her outfit in the show. This outfit is very similar, but there is a lack of flow and dress quality that she has in the show. The shoes had a lot of potential, but other than the vines that wrap around her legs, the shoes are really boring. I would really liked to have seen some amount of detail in the shoes, but they are lacking any, and one of mine was even miscast, and it had a bubble in it, which now left a hole. Ugh!

Once again the articulation works really well. Lots of good movement all over, including great articulation in the rib cage area that really helps to make the figures more dynamic.

Supergirl:

It is kind of expected that Supergirl would definitely end up with a Barbie vibe. A painted face with blond hair.

What she does have going for her is the great athletic build that all of the DC Super Hero Girls have. She is the first in the line with a skirt on, and she looks great wearing it. She also wears a pair of hightop sneakers with socks, and they are really cute with her overall outfit.

The only real letdown with the outfit is the cape. It attaches to two pegs in the back of her necklace. I can’t imagine why they would make a rubber/plastic cape when the rest of her outfit is such great fabric material. It would have been so easy to make a fabric cape. Instead she is back-heavy with the plastic cape.  The rest of the outfit, top/skirt combo look great, and have a real nice textural difference to make the outfit really stand out.

I had some trouble with her hair. Unlike the rest, Supergirl’s hair feels like a different material. It is very silky, and though it feels nice, it is a bit unruly, and hard to control. I may have to end up washing it to get it to lay right.

2 responses to “Poison Ivy and Supergirl – DC Super Hero Girls

Leave a Reply

