Falconzord – Power Rangers Legacy

Almost two weeks ago I wrote a not-so-happy post about Toys R Us.  Basically saying that their website does not live up to what we should expect from web sites today.  Basically, the Falconzord went on sale, and as I was never able to find it in the store, I would try online.  They would not let me order the figure online because they were trying to get people to pick it up in the store.  There was not a store within 50 miles that actually had it in stock, so I was stuck.  Well, I went as far as to write to them on a survey and explain where the website was lacking.   Checking back a day later, the button had been turned off to pick it up in store.  I don’t know if it was a coincidence of the computer catching up to the stock, or if someone is actually reading the surveys, but things improved drastically from there, and I have to hand it to Toys R Us for a good job from there.   There was a popup that said the item was out of stock, but they would send me an e-mail when it became available.  I was not totally trusting of the e-mail system, so I kept checking back in.   $20 off is $20 saved, so I really didn’t want to miss out.  Checking first thing in the morning, two days later, the Falconzord became available.  I was able to buy it for the discounted price, and it was delivered 5 days later with free shipping, since it was over $19.  For me, I was able to get yet another piece of Power Rangers history reborn better than the first, and for Toys R Us, they will be getting more money, since Falconzord will have to attach to something… and I am guessing it is going to be really expensive.  So, though I don’t think Toys R Us necessarily runs the tightest ship around, I am only a little miffed, since I have this beautiful Falconzord on my shelf and now for your pleasure, here is the review:

Falconzord!

The Falconzord is a thing to behold straight out of the box. It is so crisply molded, with perfect lines. The paints have been so finely detailed.

This figure probably has more articulation than the original model used in the show. It has two different joints in the wings to allow flight display. It has head movement, as well as a beak that opens. No side to side motion for the head, but that would have been a lot to ask for.

The legs have a lot of motion, as well as the gold parts being made of metal. That really helps with the standing, since the heavy parts are on the ground. The feet have a really good grip with movement in both the front and back talons. The legs move at the hips as well, to allow for great posing.

The Falconzord is expensive at $79.99. I was able to get it for $59.99 with a sale from Toys R Us. It is still expensive for one Zord that doesn’t do much on its own. You can buy the center body parts of Dino Charge Megazord for $24.99, and those attach to most everything out right now. Is Falconzord worth three times as much? The simple answer is yes… if you are a fan of Power Rangers, and more specifically the Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers. The detailing and heft of this figure is outstanding, and the other Zords don’t stand up to what is coming out in the Legacy Collection.

He is thin, since he is a bird, but he is wide. He has a wingspan that covers the area of both Megazord and Tigerzord, when they are standing side by side. That is a lot of area that it covers.

He is pretty tall too. When standing upright in his firing position, he is nearly waist high on Megazord.

If you are looking to get him for a deal, he is still $20 off at Toys R Us online, and you can buy him online and have him shipped to your home.

Leave a Reply

