Night Ops Bumblebee – Customized

This is just too much:
I think a disservice was given to Bumblebee by giving him yellow wheels.   I had not even had him for a whole weekend before I knew something had to be done with those terrible yellow wheels.

Bee was relieved of his wheels.  One thing about the current way the Transformers are made, they sure do come apart easily.  No tools required to pop off the four wheels.   Then it was onto sticks and a quick spray with a matte black (Tamiya Spray Can), and viola, complete and better than new.

For someone listed as “Night Ops” I think it is a requirement to have black on black .  I went back and forth, trying to decide if I should paint the rims of the wheels.  I ended up not doing it since there really isn’t another color on him in vehicle mode or robot mode that would look good as a rim color.   I did think about silver, but then the wheels would once again stand out, and I would end up having to add more details somewhere else on Bee.

This was a super quick job that I really think paid off.   Hmmm, who else could use a little work?

Leave a Reply

