Transformers: Robots in Disguise (2015) – Night Ops Bumblebee

Last night I went out for some Star Wars for Force Friday.  The shelves were mostly empty, so in that respect it was a bust.  But I did happen upon the new Night Ops Bumblebee from the Robots in Disguise show.   Now don’t take away my Transformers Fan card, but I have not yet seen the new show, and this is only the second figure I have opened from the main line.   I have almost all of the Warrior Class figures to date, but they got shoved to the back of the line with great Marvel Legends and Combiner Wars figures coming out all summer long.

Vehicle Mode – I didn’t realize, until this black version, that Bumblebee’s car mode looks just like The Batman batmobile.  The lines are quite well done.  There is one giant thing that is bothering me.  Those yellow wheels.  I tend to leave my Transformers the way they were made, but this is something I think I have to take care of.   It looks like something on a Legion Class figure, not the larger Warrior Class figure.

I am thinking all black will be the way to go to give him a meaner look… not to mention the Black Ops aspect he is supposed to have.

I think Bee’s robot mode is really well done.  He looks like the standard newer Bumblebee that we have seen starting with the movie redesign.  In Prime, we had a Bee that was a bit barrel chested, with the front of the car making up most of his chest.  This Bee has been streamlined a lot for the Robots in Disguise line.  He has taller shoulders, and thicker legs for a more sturdy stance.   He looks fast and capable.  And of course you want your scout to be quiet, so give him a sword.

“By the Power of Cybertron… I have the Power!”

Leave a Reply

