Rumble – Transformers: Prime – Tomy Takara AM-30

I picked up a new Prime figure off of Amazon.  Rumble.  If it wasn’t from Takara Tomy, I would be totally freaked out about getting a Transformer without being able to see the paint application first.  Quality is quality.  I only have one other Tomy Transformer that I also got for a good deal online.  It was a great addition to my collection, so I figured, this guy was a great deal, I would pull the trigger, even though I already have the Hasbro version of Rumble.

Bare naked.  He comes with a set of metallic stickers that really help out with the bare look of the car. Headlights, tail lights, and of course the Decepticon badge.He comes with a parts tree that makes an “octopus” figure named Dago R.  Dago R will become a baster in his alternate mode, as well as being able to connect to other weapons to make some super weapon of some sort.   Too bad I don’t read Japanese. I would love to be able to read about the other figures too.

Here is Dago R in all of his “octopus” glory.  Rumble is also displayed without any of the stickers attached to his torso and knees.  He looks a little on the plain side without the stickers, giving a large black area for the chest.

Stickers for both Rumble and Dago R.  It helps a lot.  It also helps that the stickers are high quality, and look good.

The stickers help Rumble’s chest the most.  The metallic gold looks great, and it takes away from the Gurren Lagann chest-face look that the Hasbro Rumble has.

Don’t mess with him when he is holding a blaster the size of his leg. I do get the irony of Rumble coming without his pile drivers.  No rumbling for this version.

The two Rumbles.  Hasbro Rumble on the left, and Tomy Rumble, on the right.  It is funny that they made the Hasbro Rumble blue.   Originally in G1, Rumble was red, so Tomy gets the points there.  They also made a Frenzy (blue), but it would be redundant to have two blue cars, even though Frenzy is a darker blue.  I am not sure why Frenzy is more expensive online, but I will stick with these two for now… unless the price drops.  Even then I will have to be persuaded, since Frenzy also comes with the same Dago R octopus.

Leave a Reply

