Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles – Movie Figures

I had to finally get my hands on some of the Ninja Turtles for the upcoming movie.  After the great showing of figures for the cartoon, I didn’t have high hopes that these would compare.  And in a lot of ways they don’t.  I wanted an array to look at, not willing to get all of them at once, in case they are really terrible.  Thankfully they are not terrible, they are mostly good figures.

April O’Neil:

I grabbed April, knowing it would be harder to find her later.  She absolutely looks like April O’Neil.

April is a fairly straight forward figure. She comes with her camera bag, a nice camera, and two sais, which I am guessing actually belong to Raphael. She cannot hold the sais very well.

She has good motion in her arms, though she doesn’t have any elbows. What is it with TMNT, and having humans with missing articulation?  She has the same motion in her hips, no knees. Her head has a joint, but it doesn’t work well with her long hair.

Leonardo:

I had to get Leonardo.  He is my favorite Turtle, so I figured, he would be a good one to look at first.  Leonardo comes with his katana blades. They fit into sheaths on his back that can be removed.

He is fairly back-heavy of course, sporting the big shell. He needs to stand hunched forward. This is only a problem since he looks down at the ground. His neck is only a swivel joint. It would have been so much better if it had a pivot as well.

Donatello:

My third choice was Donatello. He has so much going on. He is covered in tech, from goggles to a backpack that looks like it is out of Ghostbusters.

He is a lot thinner than Leonardo. I really like that they made the figures look so different from one another.

I think the figures could use a lot of touch-up with more paint colors.  There are a lot of unpainted straps and pads, as well as some areas that could just use a wash.  I am inclined to pull out some paints and see if I can get these guys looking even better.

I like the figures.  They are not my favorite, but I think I will have to at the very least get the last two Turtles.  It is not a huge wave of figures, so I won’t have to break the bank getting all of them.  I think they are a good deal at under $10 too.

2 responses to “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles – Movie Figures

Leave a Reply

