Decepticon Rumble – Prime

When I found Rumble, oh so long ago, I was not even looking for him.  I had never seen him in the stores, and he was not on my radar.  Somehow I had missed him.  Well, I grabbed him, since I had all of the other Prime figures, I didn’t think one more could hurt.  Then he sat in his box, waiting for a day to be opened.  Well, that day finally came.

The first thing you may notice is that Rumble is a car.  I know, there were not a whole lot of Decepticon cars in the Prime show, but there were a few, and they tended to be rather important characters in the show.  The blue is obnoxiously bright, but somehow it works.   There are large holes on the sides of the car for the pile drivers.  They look more like rocket launchers to me.

Once in robot mode, he is still small.  But that is a good thing.  His original version was a cassette tape, so he should be small.   I really like his giant shoulders.  They work on this guy.    There are notes of yellow to break up the tons of blue which is a nice touch.   Anyone else see a face in his torso?   He reminds me of Gurren Lagann and that whole world of robots with faces in their torsos.

The pile drivers fit over his hands really well.  There are a lot of weapons that have come across the Prime line that look more like hand held weapons, rather than weapons that transform out of the hands.  Rumble looks like his pile drivers are a part of him, which they should be.  It is nice that he has hands too.

Fear not.  If you don’t want Rumble to hold on to those pile drivers, they can fit on the back of his shoulders.  Nice, out of the way, and not in a place to get lost when you display him without the pile drivers.

Rumble is a great little figure.   He transforms well and he has a great appearance.   With a little change to the chest piece and a new head, we could have seen a great Autobot out of this as well.  If they wanted to go with someone like Steeljaw, he could keep the chest piece that already looks like a lion’s head.  Repaint him a gold color, and we would have been good to go.  Or we could have gone with the main man, Eject. Though Eject was also blue, so that might not have gone over too well.  Give them a new set of blasters, and we would have been able to carry on this little Prime world for a little longer.  I know, I know, we moved on.  Beast Hunters was upon us, so we had to get past the Prime figures.  Did we need to move on so quickly?  Did we need another Bumblebee?  I guess we did.  😉

Leave a Reply

