Marvel Bishoujo Statue – Kitty Pride

Way back in 1989, I was in the 5th grade, and I was looking to get a comic book.  My dad was driving us around, looking at a new place to live when I asked if I could get a comic book.  Saying it was okay, he stopped at a small convenience store and what I saw was Excalibur #16.

detail

There she was, sitting on the back of the lizard, Kitty Pride.   It was an instant love for the character that has lasted until this day.   There are not very many versions of Kitty toys out there.   She is just not that popular to most people.   Yesterday I was catching up on reading some blogs I follow on WordPress, when I came across a statue review by ishokuosero.  It has been so long since I saw Kotobukiya was coming out with Kitty, that I forget when it was she was coming out.  Needless to say, I ran out to get her first thing this morning.

A classic anime pose, with the iconic black and yellow clothes of the early X-Men.   Shoulder pads, gauntlets, and buccaneer boots.  Throw a dragon on her arm, and we have Kitty Pride, or Shadow Cat, as she was sometimes called.

I love the way Kotobukiya uses different paint textures in their statues.  The black and yellow really play off one another, while the gloss in the black really accentuate the overall details of the statue.  Lockheed rests on Kitty’s arm, but he can be removed.  That is a great feature, allowing for Kitty to be alone without holes in her body.

I am really happy with the way Kitty came out.   She has that youthful look that she carries throughout her stories.   She is only the second Marvel Bishoujo Statue I have collected (Ms. Marvel is the other).   I have not had a lot of desire to get the other Marvel ladies, as I have with the DC statues.   Hopefully Kotobukiya will keep up with the great work on the future Marvel women.  Wish I was headed down to Comic Con to see what they are coming up with in the near future.  Guess that is one of the joys of the internet.  Sooner or later I will get to see pictures at the very least.

As always, you can check out my Flickr page (link to the right—>) to see many more pictures of Kitty and all of my reviews.

Leave a Reply

