New Canon EF50mm f2.5 Compact Macro Lens

Sometimes our toys are not plastic and kid-based.   Yesterday I received my new Canon EF50mm f2.5 Compact Macro lens.

 

The box showed up looking like this.  The worse possible shape a box has ever come to me from Amazon.  And of course it would be the time that is something that I would want to come carefully delivered.  Not that other things I have delivered are not also delicate, but this one is a little more so, with lots of moving parts and electronics.   Thankfully Canon knows how to package their lenses, and it came out just fine.

Right away I was happy with it.  It is thinner and shorter than the original multipurpose lens I bought for the camera.  Add in that it all works, and I was good to go for some photos.

My subject was the wee-legion class Bumblebee from the Beast Hunters line.   Why not?  He has lots of little parts to show off.   The camera worked really well, and did exactly what I wanted to be able to do, and that is get in there really close to my subject to get those up-close pictures.    Very clear photo.   I am still working on getting the lighting correct.  I have three lamps, but they just don’t seem to do what I really need.  Hard to get it bright enough.

One of the fun aspects of a macro lens is getting that short focal length.  These three cars were right up against one another.  With me moving in close to Bee, the lens focuses in on him, and shortens the length of what stays in focus to a very small distance of less than one inch.

 

I can see this is going to be a lot of fun to play with as I get cranking on more reviews.

2 responses to “New Canon EF50mm f2.5 Compact Macro Lens

Leave a Reply

