Vintage Toys from the Attic, Part 2

We continue looking at toys from the box in the attic.   Boy, I remember these guys well.  I cannot believe what good condition they stayed in.

M.A.S.K.

When I started to pull the vehicles out, I had only two guys, Matt Trakker in the Firecracker, and Cahhoun Burns in the Raven.  I knew I had more somewhere.  I had seen them.  The hunt began after I took pictures of the vehicles.  I found them and reunited the drivers with their vehicles, some umteen years later.

Firecracker:

The Firecracker.  A truck with duallies in the back.  You know, back in the day when cars came with real rubber wheels.  It fits two figures, and has a motorcycle on the back.  There is also a spare tire over the fifth-wheel that fires off and has blades that comes out… but you are not supposed to know about that since it is in civilian mode.

When VENOM shows up, it is time for the Firecracker to get into Recon Truck mode.  Slide a lever on the side, and the whole thing pops up and machine guns stick out from the front grille.

From the back, you can see the little motorcycle, the killer wheel, and a backup gun facing out the back.   I am a little bummed that it appears the gun over the wheel on the other side is missing.  Not too bad for a vehicle from 1985.

Firefly:

This was one of my favorite vehicles.  It was a good car, and it turned into a great secondary vehicle.

Pull one of the levers, and the wings pop out.  Then a quick flip of the front end, and the Firefly is ready to attack.   There is a second lever that dropped a bomb.  Unfortunately, the one part of this vehicle to be missing.  Always the bombs and missiles right?

Condor:

I think the Condor is one of the best examples of how M.A.S.K. vehicles work.  Start with a green motorcycle.

End with a very convincing helicopter.   Thankfully, there were no parts to loose here.   I do know that the tabs that hold down the props in motorcycle mode tended to break, and thankfully mine are in tact and work well.

Iguana:

An ATV.  Nice and neat.  The parts work well, and this one has all of the stickers still in place.

Leave it to Venom to have a vehicle called the Mobile Shredder.  It is like they could not even be creative in their designs.  This was the only Venom vehicle I have left.  More on that in a little bit.

Bullet:

I am pretty sure Bullet was my sister’s MASK vehicle.  You know, if big brother has something, then little sister wants it too.   The Bullet is a street bike, but I would think it was more of a racing bike personally.  The one part missing, the front windshield section.  That would have really been good to have.

The Bullet turns into a hovercraft.  Really fun design.  Add in a gun at the front, and a grappling hook off the back.

Raven:

Oh yeah, now that is a cool car.  The Corvette in the 80s was quintessential to cool.  Face had one in The A-Team.  Okay, that is only two references, but I am sure there are others.  Reverse gull-wing doors, and a cool paint job make for quite a car. Transform it into the seaplane and you have…

Hey, look at that, Calhoun Burns hiding inside.  I am pretty sure he was the only figure still in his vehicle since he was so hard to get in and out and make sure the seat belt was buckled.  The seaplane was such a great design.  The whole front end of the car flipped over.  The wheel rotated under the car, and this was before Back to the Future II.  I remember folding the wings in and turning the plane into a submarine.

Missing parts?  Not only do I still have the driver WITH his helmet, but I also have the two shooting disks it came with.   Pretty good.

Drivers:

After I took the pictures, I still pondered the other MASK drivers.  I remembered them well, and I thought I must have them somewhere.  The hunt began.  I was thinking there had to be old toys hiding somewhere else.  I guess I must have had two boxes of toys at some point because I found them.  A little research and I found all of their names as well.

If you are doing the math, you are right, 10 drivers but only 6 vehicles.

Thankfully I had all the drivers to go with the vehicles I still had.  I started to do more research to see who the other guys were, and as I found pictures, I remembered the vehicles fondly.

Matt Trakker, driver of a Red Camaro that turned into a plane.  I remember loving that car.  When I saw a picture of the car, I had a flashback to loosing the car in the sand at the park.   Miles Mayhem, drove a helicopter that turned into a plane.  Also an awesome vehicle.  Don’t know what happened to it, but I do remember loving that plane.  Floyd Malloy, driver of a red motorcycle that turned into a jet.   I remember not loving that vehicle, but I do remember playing with it.  Finally our VENOM friend in the mask is Sly Rax.  He had a vehicle in one version, but the set I had had him at a gas station that turned into a tire launcher.  I remember the tires that were launched.  They were very heavy rubber.

There you have it for part 2.  M.A.S.K.  Oh the joy I had with these growing up.  Now the problem is that these are not small vehicles, and I will have a tricky time finding a place to display them.  They do need to be displayed though, no doubt about it.

Hmm, next time…. you will have to wait and see.  Some pretty good stuff still in the box.

2 responses to “Vintage Toys from the Attic, Part 2

  • bd77

    Oh man. This really brings backs memories. I used to had the tow-truck (Wildcat, not mistaken), which was great as it has a working tow with strings that resembles tow cables. Sadly I lost it during one of my family’s relocation moves… orz.

Leave a Reply

