Transformers: Prime, Beast Hunters, Commander Class Optimus Prime, Predaking and Bulkhead. Extra visit by Smokescreen

A quick look at the smaller side of Transformers. We have one Legion Class figure, and three of the new Commander Class figures. Not only do we get to get away from the rubber weapons from the earlier waves, but we get firing weapons for the Commander Class figures. Not necessarily a good thing though. Read on and enjoy.

 

Smokescreen:

Isn’t he cute. I did not like the Legion Class figures originally, but they have grown on me. There are some more intricate transformations as we go along, and they are finally done with those horrible rubber weapons.

I can’t help but think they were planning on a Smokescreen since he was in the last season of Prime, and then there was the push toward Beast Hunters. So, we get a standard looking Smoke to go along with a BH version of Bumblebee. Who knows, maybe Smokescreen gets left behind. You know, the most junior in ranking has to watch the base.

Optimus Prime:


I am digging this new Optimus. Big and bulky, and quite different than the first two seasons of the show. This just gets me REALLY excited for the larger scale version I hope to find some time… anytime… hopefully.

What do you do when you catch your “beast?” I guess you turn into a truck that doubles as a jail. At least that is the way it looks. Those big wheels are going to make driving anywhere a breeze.

Predaking:

As with Lazerback, Predaking still holds onto his beast heritage, but he does a lot better job of hiding it in robot mode. He does have his head sticking out of his back end like a reverse tail. There are a lot of similarities between Predaking and Megatron, especially in the chest area.

You should not be surprised that there is a lack of articulation in this scale. The front legs do have a knee, but the back legs do not. He is pretty rigid when in beast mode overall. His cannon becomes his tail. I am wondering if this is a theme with all of the Predacons. Lazerback’s gun also became a part of his body in beast mode.

Bulkhead:

Ah, my boy Bulkhead. The big lug stays big, and gets a bit of a color upgrade. We have seen him dark green, we have seen him dark blue, and now bright green, orange, and brown. I am not going to say this is the best color scheme, but I have seen worse. I am liking his new head with the horns. He has the addition of spikes all over.

And gone are the transforming hands. Well, I guess they are still there, but we get a new weapon for him. I was pretty excited about this “Nova Hammer,” but once I played with it, I was a bit less impressed. We are getting these firing missiles with Bulk, Optimus, and Predaking (Click on any photo to go to my Flickr site and see more). Optimus and Predaking make sense. With Bulkhead, the missile is the handle of the hammer. It makes the hammer head spin freely around up there. Boo!

Turning to vehicle mode, he does not look a whole lot different than he did before. He has the giant spikes in the front that could do some major damage. They also help to hide all of the robot parts tucked up under there.

This is a good start to the Commander Class. I am really looking forward to Optimus in the larger Voyager Class. I am not so sure about Predaking right now, but I will probably get there.

Leave a Reply

