Flashpoint Wonder Woman

I am taking a little break from the Transformers to show off a great single figure I picked up at the San Jose Toy Show earlier this month, Flashpoint Wonder Woman.  I did not even know about the Flashpoint storyline until I got the same version of Wonder Woman in Action League design.  Wondering around the Toy Show with my friend Ann, we spotted this figure on a table of a place I like to frequent each time I go to the show.  They are usually good for a single figure outside what I usually get.  And come to think if it, they are usually DC figures.

As this line was unknown to me, I did not know what to expect.  I was taken by the really great design of the costume.  Then on closer inspection, I saw that fabulous helmet.  The design of the helmet was great, but the details really made it stand out.   All of the scratches and dents are very appealing.

As you back up and look at the figure as a whole, the colors really work well together.  There are so many details on her armor, and the slight color variations in the metallic colors are really nice.  Silver to dark silver, with some blue silver mixed in.  Stylize the WW for her breast plate, and you have something going there.

Man, oh man did they do a great job with that hair.  Usually her hair is falling down her back, killing any ideas people might have of having a turning head.  Not this time.  They blew the hair out to one side.  That allows the head to turn one way much further than the other.  People with multiple Wonder Woman figures will be happy that at least one will not have to be standing in a static pose.  (I was a little bummed to find the paint scraped off at the bottom of this side of the helmet)

The other side shows just how far the hair blows out.  Nice details to boot.  Gone are the days of blobs of plastic that resemble something that may or may not be hair.

Her nice long cape gives a very regal appearance to her overall look.   She is in charge of this army.

Unpacking her, I was really excited to find that she has quite a bit of articulation.   Way back in the day, the DC figures went the route of style over articulation, while the Marvel figures went the way of articulation and crapped on style.   It appears that DC has really gone to a lot of trouble this time around and really got the articulation thing down pat.   There are a bunch of places, 15 by my count.  Neck, shoulder (pivot and ball), elbow, wrist, hip, knee, top of shin, ankle.  We did not get waist articulation, but I figure that is a good call since it would have broken up the great armor.  I don’t want to forget that the elbow has an armor cover that is also articulated, and can move freely over the elbow.

In all, a fantastic figure.  She really stands out on the shelf.   No other WW like her in my collection.  The details are the best I have seen.  Hopefully the future of the DC lines.

Leave a Reply

