Transformers: Prime – Optimus Prime

Today we are looking at THE MAN!  Or I guess to be more correct, The Robot.   But none the less, he is the guy who leads all, and wins always.  How any iterations have we had of Transformers?  Every one of them has Optimus Prime in charge of the Autobots.  Generally out maned, out gunned, and often with some human tag-alongs that are really more trouble than they are worth.  But their worth is what keeps Prime going.

Looking very much like his cartoon counterpart, he is still his iconic self.  When they originally designed this guy, I bet they did not know he would go through so many variations over the years.

He has great range of motion, being articulated everywhere you could want.  He even has the great shoulder articulation we are getting with all of the Prime figures.

This is the “gun” that Optimus comes with.   It is really crappy looking, more of a mix of clear-blue and silver plastic than anything else.   I wish they would just give up on all of the dumb transforming weapons they did back in the Dark of the Moon series.  They were dumb then, and they are feeling even more stupid now.   I just threw mine into the cabinet with the rest of the weapons that don’t work.

If the gun had the ability to be open on its own, I might feel better about it.  But it doesn’t, so I feel Hasbro wasted time, and charged us extra money for something we did not need.  And with Optimus  costing around $26 at Toys R Us, I would have liked to save a few dollars there.

In vehicle mode, Optimus Prime is the big nose truck we see in the movie series.  I know there are a lot of haters out there that wish we could get the classic flat-nosed truck back.   I do think it allows a little more wiggle room for the designers to create better body parts.   The way the arms fold up in here is nothing less than extraordinary.  That is what gives Optimus long arms that look right for how tall he is.

“Robots in Disguise”…except from the back.  🙂  There is actually a really cool transformation here too which allows his shins to fold forward and under the truck cab as you fold the arms down into place.   I am sure that was a tricky piece of design work there.   I was really glad to see the 5th wheel on the back, instead of some post or nothing at all.  The way it closes up, I am thinking they are leaving the option open to make a trailer at a later time.

And then, they say to attach the weapons like this.   Um, I guess if you squint at it, it could be a generator being delivered on the back of a truck.  I don’t know.   Like I said, the gun went into the void of a cabinet with the other stuff I don’t like the figures holding.

And then there were 5….plus Starscream, but he is not an Autobot, so he doesn’t count… this time.   I am sure my Decepticon ranks will grow too.  I am really looking forward to getting my hands on Bulkhead and Ratchet to round out the Autobots.

It seems slow in coming, but I did find some new figures out at Toys R Us last night.  Unfortunately, it was about 14 Bumblebees, one Wheeljack and one Cliffjumper.   Soundwave is supposed to be in Wave 1 too, but he was nowhere to be seen.   The hunt continues.

I did get the new Bumblebee, so I am going to be doing a comparison between the two.  There are definitely tranformation differences, and the new Bee has two arm cannons.   What else?  Guess you will have to come back and find out.

Leave a Reply

