Die, toy poachers

Today was my fun day for venturing out to hunt for some toys. After a failed attempt at Toys R Us, I went to the nearby K-Mart. Shopping at K-Mart is something akin to trying to get gas in the Mad Max reality. There are a lot of people who would rather be anywhere but at K-Mart, just trying to get out of there, but only having two employees at any given time.

I try as hard as I can to NEVER go into the wasteland that is K-Mart. But, since it was early in the day on a Saturday, I was hoping for the best. Well, it turned out to be worse than I thought.

On my way in, I saw three guys carrying out four cases of Hot Wheels. These damn poachers cleared out the store. I am pretty sure that particular K-Mart will not halve any more Ho t Wheels for quite some time.

I hate seeing these guys walk out of the store with something that I know will end up on eBay. I know they could be collectors, but I actually heard them discussing eBay as they passed. The
Hesse guys are going to sit on them for 9 months and then unload them as people are getting desperate for that one color or whatever they need.

Maybe this blog should have been titled: How eBay killed hobby toy collectors. I don’t want them all, not even most, but there are a few Hot Wheels I do like to collect for aesthetics or classic designs. I hate to think that the guy who is selling the 6 Ecto-1s from two years back is also going to be the guy who is going to keep me from getting this year’s KITT.

Leave a Reply

