San Jose Toy Show Haul Part 2: Green Lantern Stel

Part 2 of my toy haul.  I am going to show you my newest action figure from DC Direct.  It has been a LOOOOOOOONG time since I bought an action figure, since they are getting really expensive, and I have most of the major characters, and generally I am not so deep into the comics to know who the other characters are.  And… it is this with with this figure.  I have no clue who he is, so I had to look him up on Wikipedia.  Ironically, there is not much to know about the guy, but he looked cool, and that is what I like.

Presenting: Green Lantern Stel

A powerhouse of a figure, I was really intrigued by the armor plating and the great contrast between the very vivid green and the dark grey, almost black.   He has the powerful legs that really ground him, and give him quite the powerful stance.

If you are looking for a figure you can play with, then DC Direct is the wrong place.  There was a time when DC and Marvel competed with one another for the best action figures.   Marvel went the route of major articulation giving 20 or more points, while DC kept the articulation to a minimum while focusing instead on the design and detail of the figures.   Stel does not have the best articulation, but he does have great details.  The articulation is basically his neck moving back and forth as well as some up and down movement.   Both shoulders move around, but can also swing out slightly.  Elbow and wrist movement which not all DC figures have.   Finally we end with the bottom half of the body, torso, hips and knees.  Hope you like Stel standing.  No articulation in the ankles what-so-ever.

The only problem I have with the figure are his hands.  He has tiny little hand.  What is up with that?  They are pretty seriously distracting.  I did not notice it in the packaging, but once out… they look weird.

Stel looks giant.  Like he should have been an over-sized figure like Kilowog, but he is pretty standard.  Taller by the tiniest of margins.  I put him next to 2005 Flash, and 2007 Wonder Woman.  I thought they were good choices for comparison, since they have similar articulation.  Note that neither of them have the waist swivel.  Advantage Stel.

He is a great looking figure, and the green really stands out among the other figures.   Maybe I will have to hand Stel and Flash on the Christmas tree.  That red and green really look good together.

Tomorrow is the last part of the San Jose Toy Show haul.  Then I have some new Transformers to look at.  ‘Tis the season.

Leave a Reply

