Today’s Outing: San Jose Super Toy Comic and Collectible Show

This morning I awoke to a fun day ahead of me.   Time Tunnel Toys has an Bi-Annual Toy show, and outside of ComiCon and WonderCon, this is the best place to go for one stop shopping for all of your toy needs.   Walking around, there are a lot of great vintage toys, as well as lots of modern toys.  There is a little bit of everything.

I am super grateful for the “Early Bird” entrance fee.  A little extra money up front is a price I am willing to pay to get in the door and shop around before the crowds start.  I am not a huge fan of crowds, and even less of a fan of the GIANT line that always forms as the place opens.

The Show is held down at the Santa Clara Fairgrounds, in one of their large buildings.  The fairgrounds are host to many event, usually on the same weekend.  I am never sure what they are going to have going on, but they are never related to the toy show.  This time, it was a Girl Scout jamboree of some sort.  Tons of little girls running around and screaming at one another.   Thankfully it is not a long walk to building and then I was out of the crazy wind too.

Once inside the show, I have to take a few laps around the place.  I would hate to buy something, only to find something better later, and not have the money to buy it.

This time, after a few rounds, I was ready to buy.  I ended up getting a few Marvel MiniMate sets from waaaay back.  2003, you know, when they started.  I could not believe it.   These were in the boxes (if you are a collector, you will remember) where there were no windows to see the contents.  Pictures on the front and that was all.  It was the time of a thousand Wolverines and a million Spider-Men.  Ummm… not much has changes I guess.  We still see a lot of Spider-Man and Wolverine figures pop up.   I guess we would see the most popular figures again and again.

Also in the realm of comics, I bought a Green Lantern figure.  I have not bought a regular comic action figure in a very long time.  There just has not been anything that looked good enough for me to spend the money on.  And with the prices of oil, the prices of action figures has gone through the roof.  Needless to say, this one really tickled my fancy.  Wanna know which figure?  Too bad, you will have to wait for a review. 😉

Finally, as I was almost done, I was at a booth I like to visit every time I go to the show, and they had a Revoltech Evangelion figure.   Not having to buy a Revoltech online?  I could not pass on that opportunity.

With that, I was done and out of there, and happy with a few good purchases.  Still waiting for that one good deal on an original G1 Jetfire, but I am a patient man.

Leave a Reply

