Cars 2 – Ridemakerz Lightning McQueen

This past week I grabbed the newest of the Cars 2 toys to be released.   We have a ton of new dicast vehicles, but the local Toys R Us’ are filled with these big boxes of cars with lots of accessories.  There are three sizes.   This is the Deluxe kit including a car, and a lot of accessories to play with right out of the box.  This is not a set for the faint of heart, costing nearly $40.  It does however come with a lot of great accessories.   I really wanted the green Lightning McQueen, so I was going to get the starter set that comes with the body and tires (wheels sold separately).  Then I was going to add on a blown engine and some of the 8-barrel wheels.  Seeing all of that and more, really made this set a good deal for me.

Out of the box:

Think that is enough accessories?  Just a drop in the bucket for what they have available.

So, here is a base Lightning McQueen.  He is sporting the new headlights (no more sticker headlights for an international racer).  He comes with the standard fin he will have in the movies and the side pipes that are unique to him.  Both are removable for changing accessories.  The body is quite solid and really rolls well.  I was a little timid about a product from a company I had not heard of before.  But the paint is flawless and the plastic is high quality.

I am thinking this is distracted driving.   How can he see with that giant thing on his nose?   I don’t see how.  So this is what I was after.   The great blown engine.  It has movable air intakes and there is a braided wire for the fuel line.  Way better than I would have expected.

A little more of a subtle hot rod.  I REALLY like the side pipes.  They remind me of the Shelby Cobra or the Corvette Stingray.   I can’t wait to try them out on some of the other vehicles in the line (Mater, Finn McMissile, and Francesco).

And in case you were wondering, here is a size comparison.  This is a huge increase in size from the standard Cars Dicast toys.

If you feel the need to set up a little engine shop like I did, you will not be disappointed.   You do however need to go to Toys R Us to get your stuff… unless you live by one of the Disney parks where they are setting up a temporary shop.

Leave a Reply

