Finally my Halo MiniMates arrived

They were supposed to be out in November, but they did not come out until mid December.   I received two packs from  my favorite online MiniMate source stuckakid.

Warthog and Driver

4 Pack

These are different from the sets that are supposed to be at Toys R Us, though I have not seen any yet.   I am afraid that the Halo fans beat me to it, but I will keep my fingers crossed that they will start to show up after New Years.

Everything I know about Halo I have learned from the toys.  I have never played Halo, and probably will never get to as I do not have a game console that has it.

4 Pack:

Group photo from left to right:  UNSC Marine 2, Master Chief, Elite Assault Armor (Cobalt), Spartan Scout (White)

Four figures, and four distinct armors.  I love the MiniMates.   There are a few parts here and there that are reused, but even though these guys are so tiny, they (at Art Asylum) go to a lot of trouble to make sure the figures are as accurate as possible.

The figures are well made.  The Master Chief and Spartan Scout have black heads under the helmets.   The Marine has a face under there.  even the Elite has a face under his helmet.  I forgot to take a picture of it, but suffice it to say it is one ugly face.  🙂

Warthog:

The Warthog version I received is a dirty one.  The TRU version is clean.    This is a REALLY well built vehicle.  Very sturdy, and strong feeling.    The driver is a little tricky to get down into the seat since he has giant bulky armor on his legs.  I figure that a standard MiniMate would just slide right down in there.

The turret on the back swivels 360 degrees as well as moving up and down.  It is really easy to attach a gunner back there.

Combined:

The box for the Warthog says that it can “conveniently” hold 6 figures.   Tell me, do you think all of this manhood can fit inside this vehicle:

Well, here it is with all five figures inside:

That was five figures, and it looks like they had to be shoved in with a shoe horn.  I don’t know how they expected six figures to fit in there.   And as a military vehicle, there is nothing “convenient” about their seating arrangement.

Over all I am very pleased with the figures.  I am looking forward to hunting the others down at Toys R Us and seeing how the rest compare.   Hopefully this will take off so we can get some other vehicles.  I would love to see the MiniMate version of the Halo quad bike.

Leave a Reply

